An Add to Week 3: Note from Mama L

July 26, 2011 § 1 Comment

Hello Mighty Hero!

From the money raised by participants of our challenge to navigate Fourteen Weeks to a more Meaningful and Compassionate Life, we assisted a mother of fourteen who lost the title deed to her land because of unreachable bills incurred by the needs of her youngest son, fighting a battle against Leukemia.  With $150 dollars, we cleared the debt, secured the land title back from the hospital, and bought her enough fertilizer to dramatically increase the yield of her farm, so as to keep her other children in school.

Today, as an additive to our program, I wanted to share her words of gratitude with you; you who acted to alleviate her suffering by simply donating $1 or more.

A Note from Mama L*:

There is not enough time or enough pages in books for me to tell you how thankful I am to you who have shown love for me.  I was so low.  The problems before me, especially fighting Leukemia for my son, Brian, I could not carry alone, not with my other children.  My only plan was to try until I no longer could, until God took me from the pain or the pain from me.  And before today I was wearing so low.

But then you cared.  I found a community in Brian and a community in Flying Kites.  I wish I could tell you what saving my land and my son’s dignity and my children’s dignity means to me, but I can’t.  So I will tell you only that you have saved my dignity as a mother and you have given me my land again to dig so I can provide for my family.

May you be blessed for what you have done.

Whoever you are, thank you.

Mama L*                                                                                                                                                                     *(name withheld for privacy)

Join me in more acts of compassion like this one. Fourteen Weeks to a more Meaningful and Compassionate Life.  Or, if you’re already participation, empower these acts by giving $1.

With LOVE!

Brian

§ One Response to An Add to Week 3: Note from Mama L

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading An Add to Week 3: Note from Mama L at Kenya Dig It?.

meta

