Something of a Dream.

June 15, 2010 § 8 Comments

Had I never come to Africa, this day would have remained just a wonderful dream that I woke from, instead of woke to.

An estimated 4000 people attended the event.  Troops of children dressed in their vibrant school uniforms came flooding down side roads by the hundreds, and when we crested the hill to the advertised meeting place, all expectations were overcome.  I was brimming with emotion.

The event was a success beyond belief.  Our motorcade consisted of fourteen motorcycles, a truck full of armed officers, our two Flying Kites Land Rovers, a bus from Nairobi carrying the Kenyan National Champion Children’s Choir, and a lorry hauling media crew, live musicians, and a massive sound system.  The procession was as much a dance party as it was anything else.

The day’s program was nothing short of madness behind the scenes, but on the surface it unfolded beautifully.  2012 presidential candidate Martha Karua had the crowd in awe, the National Champion Children’s Choir was unreal, and when Jimmie Gait arrived, you would have thought it was the Beatles.  Girls were screaming.  Kids were jumping the ropes and sprinting to his vehicle.  It was crazy!

On cue of his arrival, I ran to a neighboring lot and lit two rockets, one of which left the ground and hissed to a cow pasture where it gurgled in a river before giving a few cows a heart attack.  The other blew up right where I lit it, sending me behind a tree laughing and most of the crowd to the ground.

Jimmie plowed his way to the stage in rock star fashion and in the pouring rain had the entire place going nuts.  At this point, the program was at it’s end, and I was on the roof, soaking wet, dancing with our kids, feeling the joy and relief of everything leaving my hands.  It was a moment of pure happiness.

I thanked the crowd, thanked the many people who helped me in this journey, and received wonderful recognition from the crowd and from Flying Kites staff.  Most touching of all though, when I returned home after the long day, all the children rushed me and tackled me to the ground, thanking me and hugging me.

I will post more pictures in the coming days and let them fill in the details.  I love you all very much and am so thankful for all your support in each chapter of this adventure!

Always,

Brian

§ 8 Responses to Something of a Dream.

  • Scott & Vicki says:

    We loved reading your update and looking at all your photos with Grandpa Ken as we were in the San Jose airport returning from Brandon’s Santa Clara graduation. The three of us had big smiles on our faces as we felt the pride in your wonderful event. Can’t wait to have a chance to talk and hear more details. We’re very proud of the good work you are doing. We love you much! Mom & Dad

  • Scott & Vicki says:

    We loved reading your post as we waited in the San Jose airport with Grandpa Ken on our way home from Brandon’s Santa Clara graduation. Wow! The shear numbers of attendees was phenomenal! We are so proud of the good work you are doing and can’t wait to talk in person to get more details. We love you so much! Mom & Dad

  • Mary Lemon says:

    Brought tears to my eyes! What an awesome event.

  • Lisa Dyer says:

    Congrats on such a great event Brian. Joe, Kellen and I enjoy reading your blog together as a family and the pictures are awesome. I too got a little misty eyed when I read about how your kids were so thankful when you got back to the school. You are doing a wonderful thing!!!

  • Craig Jones says:

    Sounds like a very successful event. You should be very proud. Keep up the good work.

  • Bre says:

    I have been waiting to read about the event and wondering how it went (though I felt pretty confident I would open your blog to find an amazing story…)Thank you for allowing me to experience the celebration with you. I envisioned the children proudly marching, I saw them joyfully dancing, and I felt my heart swell with hope.

    Cheers!

  • Jereme Tobias says:

    So glad to hear the event was so succesful! You should be proud of all your hard work and determination. As you may or may not heard, the twins, Ethan & Luke, were born on 06/15. We are home now and blessed that they are healthy and adorable! We hope to make it up to WA next summer so you can meet them and to talk to you more about your adeventures! Meanwhile, I love bragging about my cousin doing such wonderful work in Africa!

  • Roberta says:

    Wow Brian, way to go!! The day was a huge succerss and we’re so happy for you and all the kids. What a great job you are doing. I loved all the colorful clothing all were wearing. Looking forward to seeing you before long.
    Our love & prayers, Roberta & Terry

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Something of a Dream. at Kenya Dig It?.

meta

